35th Anniversary Celebration

Many thanks to our sponsors, host committee, speakers, honorees, and 300 guests who made our “Rooted Together Rising As One” 35th Anniversary celebration (10/19/2013) a night to remember!

In case you missed it (or you want to relive it) here’s a slideshow of photos from the evening.

Photography by Aubrie Johnson.


John K. Irwin Award: Jason Bell, Project Rebound; Vonya Quarles, Starting Over, Inc.
Charisse Shumate Award: Susan Burton, A New Way of Life
Family Unity Award: Dolores Canales, California Families to Abolish Solitary Confinement
All of Us or None Award: Tom Ammiano, California State Assembly Member
Lifetime Achievement Award: Linda Evans, All of Us or None


Nane Alejandrez, Barrios Unidos
Sandy Close, New America Media
Quinn Delaney & Wayne Jordan, Akonadi Foundation
Benjamin Todd Jealous, NAACP
Rev. Michael McBride, PICO National Network
Eva Paterson, Equal Justice Society
J. Tony Serra, civil rights attorney
Karen Shain, The Women’s Foundation of California
Eddy Zheng, CYC-Bayview Youth Advocates

& over 350 Guests, including
Nationally Recognized Civil Rights Leaders
State & Local Legislators
Formerly Incarcerated People
Families with Incarcerated Loved Ones
Social Justice Advocates


Strategic Sustainer
Anonymous Donor

Movement Maker
Quinn Delaney & Wayne Jordan
Kazan, McClain, Abrams, Fernandez, Lyons, Greenwood, Oberman, Satterley & Bosl Foundation

Tenacious Transformer
Anonymous Donor
Californians for Safety and Justice
Drug Policy Alliance
Prison Law Office

Freedom Fighter
Anonymous Donor
The California Endowment
Greenbridge Corporate Counsel
Insight Prison Project
International Longshore and Warehouse Union Local 10
Margaret Littlefield
United Workers Congress

Champion Chainbreaker
ACLU of Northern California
California Coalition for Women Prisoners
Keith Carson, President of the Alameda County Board of Supervisors
National Employment Law Project